FLORIDA COURT CLERKS & COMPTROLLERS Resolution 2017-1

Florida Court Clerks & Comptrollers Resolution in Support of Ensuring the Independence of Constitutional Officers

WHEREAS, the Florida Constitution in Article VIII, Section 1(d), creates the following constitutional officers: sheriff, tax collector, property appraiser, supervisor of elections, and clerk of the circuit court, and invested in them certain powers and duties; and

WHEREAS, the Florida Constitution in Article V, Section 16, provides that: there shall be in each county a clerk of the circuit court who shall be selected pursuant to the provisions of Article VIII section 1; that notwithstanding any other provision of the constitution, the duties of the clerk of the circuit court may be divided by special or general law between two officers, one serving as clerk of court and one serving as ex officio clerk of the board of county commissioners, auditor, recorder, and custodian of all county funds; and that there may be a clerk of the county court if authorized by general or special law; and

WHEREAS, Florida Clerks are dedicated to serving Florida's citizens and protecting their right to choose and elect their constitutional officers; and

WHEREAS, the Constitution Revision Commission is established to recommend proposed amendments to the Florida Constitution for the benefit of Florida's citizens; and

WHEREAS, the Florida Court Clerks & Comptrollers supports the elections of independent constitutional officers to ensure the right of the citizens of each county to elect their constitutional officers and the direct accountability of the officers to the electorate; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that on this 11th day of October, 2017, at the Fall Conference in Orlando, Florida, the Florida Court Clerks & Comptrollers publicly acknowledges and reiterates its support for constitutional amendments that will ensure citizens are directly represented by the constitutional officers duly elected in each county.

FLORIDA COURT CLERKS & COMPTROLLERS:

ATTEST:

Clerk Marcia M. Johnson

Marcia M. Johnson

Franklin County
FCCC President

Sean C. Hudson

FCCC Acting Executive Director