Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Constitution Revision Commission (CRC)?

The Constitution Revision Commission (CRC) is a group of 37 people appointed to review and recommend changes to the Florida Constitution once every 20 years.

Who selects commission members?

The Governor appoints 15 members, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and Senate President each pick nine members, three members are chosen by the Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme Court and the Florida Attorney General is a member as well.

How can I participate in the process?

The CRC will hold public hearings throughout the state where citizens can attend and share ideas and feedback on potential proposals for the ballot. After gathering public input, the CRC will recommend proposals for the 2018 General Election (November 6, 2018). The proposals will be placed on the ballot and voters will decide what passes. Proposals require 60 percent of the vote in order to pass.

How long does the process last?

The CRC began its work upon the conclusion of the 2017 legislative session and must submit proposals to the Secretary of State by May 2018. 


  • March 2017: 2017-2018 Constitution Revision Commission named
  • 2017 Legislative Session: Appropriations for Commission’s work
  • May/June 2017: 2017-2018 Constitution Revision Commission begins work
  • May 2018: Commission submits proposals to Secretary of State
  • November 2018: Citizens vote on proposals 

Who is on the current CRC?

  • Carlos Beruff, Chairman
  • Dr. Jose “Pepe” Armas – Miami
  • Lisa Carlton – Sarasota
  • Timothy Cerio – Tallahassee
  • Emery Gainey – Tallahassee
  • Brecht Heuchan – Tallahassee
  • Marva Johnson – Winter Garden
  • Darlene Jordan – Palm Beach
  • Fred Karlinsky – Weston
  • Belinda Keiser – Parkland
  • Frank Kruppenbacher – Orlando
  • Dr. Gary Lester – The Villages
  • Jimmy Patronis – Panama City
  • Pam Stewart – Tallahassee
  • Nicole Washington – Miami Beach
  • Don Gaetz – Niceville
  • Anna Marie Hernandez Gamez – Miami
  • Patricia Levesque – Tallahassee
  • Sherry Plymale – Fort Pierce
  • William “Bill” Schifino, Jr. – Tampa
  • Chris Smith – Ft. Lauderdale
  • Bob Solari – Indian River
  • Jacqui Thurlow-Lippisch – Sewall’s Point
  • Carolyn Timmann – Martin County
  • Hank Coxe – Jacksonville
  • Arthenia Joyner – Tampa
  • Roberto Martinez – Coral Gables
  • Representative Jose Felix Diaz – Miami
  • Speaker pro tempore Jeanette Nuñez – Kendall
  • Representative Chris Sprowls – Palm Harbor
  • Senator Tom Lee – Brandon
  • Senator Darryl Rouson – St. Petersburg
  • Sheriff Chris Nocco – New Port Richey
  • Erika Donalds – Naples
  • Rich Newsome – Orlando
  • John Stemberger – Orlando
  • Pam Bondi, Attorney General – Automatic Appointment
  • Jeff Woodburn, Executive Director – Tallahassee (CRC Staff)

Where can I learn more about the CRC?

For more information and resources, visit the CRC's website at Videos of meetings are available from The Florida Channel here

What is the committee process?

The CRC has developed a roadmap showing the process of how a CRC proposal becomes law. There are 10 substantive standing committees and two procedural committees. The substantive committees hold public meetings to discuss and vote on proposals. They can report a proposal either unfavorably, favorably, or favorably as amended. After all proposals have been discussed and voted on, the reports will be sent to the Secretary. The full Commission will then meet to vote on the proposals. A majority vote made up from at least 22 members is required for the proposal to be sent to the Style and Drafting Committee, which will write recommended ballot language. These proposals will be submitted to the Secretary of State for placement on the November 2018 ballot.